"Eranda Jayawickreme" Archive

Honesty Project announces winners of funding competition

The Honesty Project, which launched in 2020 with a $4.4 million grant from the John Templeton Foundation, has awarded grants to 16 projects exploring the science of honesty and philosophical questions related to the virtue. Photo of a student wearing a mask and working on a laptop while sitting at a black iron picnic table in the Tribble Courtyard. A large tree with autumn foliage is shown behind her.

The Project’s funding competitions drew hundreds of proposals from researchers worldwide who are investigating what determines honesty, how honest people are, and the consequences of honesty for relationships, groups and institutions. The winning studies focus on a range of topics from honesty in public health communications to understanding culturally-endorsed parental lies.

“We are thrilled to be able to support these 16 teams researching the philosophy and the science of honesty,” said Christian B. Miller, project director and A.C. Reid Professor of Philosophy at Wake Forest. “The study of honesty has been surprisingly neglected in academic research, but these highly innovative and exciting projects will help to change that. I can’t wait to see the discoveries about honesty they will produce in the coming years.”

Read the full story and view the research award winners on the Wake Forest News website.

Categories: Faculty News

Faculty books: August 2021

Congratulations to Wake Forest University faculty from the Reynolda Campus who reported publishing books in August 2021:

Categories: Faculty NewsInside WFU

Jayawickreme named Tribble Professor of Psychology

Eranda Jayawickreme, associate professor of psychology, has been named Harold W. Tribble Professor of Psychology. Headshot of Eranda Jayawickreme, Wake Forest University Harold W. Tribble Professor of Psychology

“I’m grateful to receive this endowed professorship, as well as for the opportunity to work at Wake Forest for the past 12 years,” said Jayawickreme. “Wake Forest is one of the leading research hubs for the study of morality and character, and I feel lucky to be at a university that truly lives up to the teacher-scholar model.”

Jayawickreme received the endowed professorship, one of the highest honors the College can award a faculty member, for his significant contributions to teaching, student mentorship, and interdisciplinary scholarship on the intersection of psychology and philosophy involving post-traumatic growth, well-being, moral character, and integrative theories of personality.

Read more on the College of Arts and Sciences website.

Categories: Faculty NewsInside WFU

Nominations sought for commencement 2020 speaker

The Office of the Provost e-mailed this announcement to students, faculty and staff on Sept. 24:

Dear Wake Forest Community,

As members of the Commencement Speaker Advisory Committee, we look forward to engaging our graduating students and other members of the university community in the selection process of our 2020 Commencement speaker. As we begin this exciting task, we look to you to provide us with speaker nominations for Commencement 2020.

Please submit your suggestions to CSAC@wfu.edu by 5 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 4. Submissions must include:

  • Name of nominee
  • A response to the question: “Why do you think this person would be an exceptional Commencement speaker at Wake Forest University?”
  • Any contact name(s) for your nomination (if possible) and/or any connection to Wake Forest

We are especially interested in hearing from graduating students and of nominations with a Wake Forest connection. Suggestions are also gratefully welcomed from faculty and staff.

As you can imagine, people of this caliber are in high demand. While we hope to host a speaker from suggestions we receive, we cannot guarantee that our invitations will be accepted.  Your thoughts will be vital to informing our approach and to selecting a speaker.

This committee is dedicated to the transparency of this process, but please understand that the actual invitation process must remain confidential. Announcement of the Class of 2020’s commencement speaker will follow a similar timeline as in years past.

We look forward to reviewing your nominations.


The Commencement Speaker Advisory Committee

Rogan Kersh, Provost and Professor of Politics and International Affairs
Kyle Adams, Class of 2021 and Student Trustee
Shannon Dubuisson, Executive Director of University Events
Michele Gillespie, Dean of the College and Presidential Endowed Chair of Southern History
Eranda Jayawickreme, Associate Professor of Psychology
Mark Knudson, President of the Faculty Senate and Professor of Family Medicine
Sophie Leruth, Wake Forest Fellow in the Office of the Provost
Mellie Mesfin, Class of 2020 and President of Student Government
Julia Mroz, Class of 2020 and President of Student Union
Matt Schlosser, Wake Forest Fellow in the Office of the President
Harold Pace, Assistant Provost for Academic Administration and University Registrar
Samantha Perrotta Turner, Director of Strategic Initiatives, Office of the Provost
Mary Pugel, Chief of Staff, Office of the President
Christina Soriano, Associate Provost for the Arts and Interdisciplinary Initiatives and Associate Professor of Dance

Proposals funded: Williams, Fernandez, Jayawickreme

Congratulations to Richard Williams, professor emeritus of physics, whose proposal entitled “Improvements of Scintillators mainly Experimental WFU subcontract from Lawrence Berkeley National Lab” has been funded by the U.S. Department of Energy and by (subaward/subcontract from) the University of California.

Congratulations to Luis Fernandez, assistant professor of biology, whose proposal entitled “PRO-Agua Project: Peru” has been funded by the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation and by (subaward/subcontract from) the Board of Trustees of Leland Stanford Junior University.

Congratulations to Eranda Jayawickreme, associate professor of psychology, whose proposal entitled “Strengthening Character Through Challenge and Failure” has been funded by the John Templeton Foundation and by (subaward/subcontract from) Arizona State University.

Categories: Faculty NewsInside WFU