Search Committee formed to identify Dean of the College

A search committee has been formed to identify the next Dean of the College, succeeding Michele Gillespie, whose term as Provost begins on July 1, 2022. Tony Marsh, Senior Associate Dean of the Faculty and Professor of Health and Exercise Science, will serve as interim Dean of the College while the search is underway.

The search committee will be co-chaired by Gillespie and Dean Franco, Winifred W. Palmer Professor of English and Director of the Humanities Institute. The full Search Committee membership includes faculty, staff, and students, as well as Wake Forest alumni and parents with Hannah Kehaya from the College Board of Visitors and Curt Farmer from the Board of Trustees.

  • Pilar Agudelo (’23), Politics and International Affairs Major
  • Landon Bradshaw (’23), Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Major
  • Elizabeth Clendinning, Associate Professor of Music
  • Nicole Dalzell, Assistant Teaching Professor of Statistics
  • Curt Farmer (’84, MBA ’91, P ’16), Board of Trustees
  • Errin Fulp, Professor of Computer Science
  • Stavroula Glezakos, Associate Professor of Philosophy
  • Hannah Kehaya (‘91, P’20), College Board of Visitors
  • Shea Kidd Brown, Vice President for Campus Life
  • Miles Silman, Andrew Sabin Family Foundation Professor of Conservation Biology
  • Michelle Steward, Associate Professor of Marketing, School of Business
  • Timo Thonhauser, Wright Family Professor of Physics
  • José Luis Venegas, Professor of Spanish, Director of Interdisciplinary Humanities
  • Jonathan Walton, Dean of the School of Divinity
  • Betina Wilkinson, Associate Professor of Politics and International Affairs
  • Anna Willis, Academic Coordinator
  • Susan R. Wente, President (ex officio)

Sam Perrotta (’12), chief of staff in the Provost’s Office, will staff the committee. A search firm will be selected through an RFP process in the coming weeks. Updates will be shared with the community on search firm selection and engagement opportunities, including forums and an informational website to collect campus feedback.

To share input with the committee directly before those opportunities, please email comments to