Site Content

Inside WFU

Wake Forest news for faculty and staff

Residence Life and Housing

Byrd a ‘Certified Educational Facilities Professional’

james.byrd.300x175James Byrd, manager of the Deacon OneCard Office, has earned the Certified Educational Facilities Professional (CEFP) credential from APPA.

Certification as a Certified Educational Facilities Professional validates the unique knowledge and competency required of an accomplished professional in the educational facilities field. Byrd is the first person to receive this credential at Wake Forest.

“By obtaining the CEFP, it assures the individual and their institution that they have established a thorough and applied understanding of the best management practices related to educational facilities,” said J. Thomas Becker, chair of APPA’s Board of Educational Facilities Professionals Certification.

“The CEFP credential is an exciting new standard for educational stewardship. It represents core knowledge, talent and skill, underscoring accountability and commitment to growth and mastery,” said Lander Medlin, APPA executive vice president. “By earning the CEFP designation, James shows his superior mastery and commitment to his work, his institution and his colleagues.”

Clifford receives SACSA’s Mid-Level Professional Award

matt.clifford.300x175On November 4, Matt Clifford, director of residence life, received the inaugural Mid-Level Professional Award at the 64th Annual Conference of the Southern Association for College Student Affairs (SACSA) in Baltimore, Md.

The Mid-Level Professional Award recognizes a mid-level professional who has provided exemplary service to SACSA and on a college or university campus. The criteria include a minimum of six years of full-time professional experience in a higher education setting and demonstrated service to SACSA. The award-winner must also possess outstanding character and serve as a role model for other new and mid-level professionals.

Clifford’s leadership positions with SACSA include:  2006-07, Member of the Local Arrangements Committee Team; 2011-12 Resource Room & Involvement Chair; 2012-13 Talent Development Chair, 2013 Annual Conference Committee Program Chair, and 2014 Annual Conference Committee Chair.

WFU presents at student affairs conference

Award winners at the conferenceBrad Shugoll, Campus Life fellow, Matt Clifford, the director of Residence Life, and Larry Correll-Hughes, assistant director of assignments, recently attended the Southern Association of College Student Affairs annual conference in Norfolk, Va.

Correll-Hughes presented “Managers?: Thinking about what we do and what we think about management.” Shugoll presented a poster session titled “Uniting the Arts, Humanities, and Service through Civic Reflection.” Clifford served as the program chair for the conference and was honored with the association’s mid-level professional award for 2013.

November 2013 staff milestones

See a list of employment milestones reached by staff in November 2013: Continue reading »

Clifford contributes article to NASPA publication

Matt CliffordMatt Clifford, director of Residence Life, co-wrote an article entitled “Advancing Professional Development and Knowledge Community Resources for NASPA Members: A Member-Driven Assessment” in the fall 2013 National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA) Knowledge Communities publication.

July 2013 comings and goings

See a list of employees joining and leaving the University in July 2013: Continue reading »

June 2013 comings and goings

See a list of employees joining and leaving the University in June 2013: Continue reading »

July 2013 staff milestones

See a list of employment milestones reached by staff in July 2013: Continue reading »

Police Communications Center to move temporarily

The University Police Communications Center will move after commencement from Davis Residence Hall into Alumni Hall on a temporary basis.  The move is required by renovation of the police communications center.

Starting on the afternoon of May 20, the police communications center will be located in Alumni Hall, Room 164, until June 11.

No disruption of service will occur.  Calls to the communications center — emergency and non-emergency — will be answered, as always.

To visit the center’s Alumni Hall location, enter the building at the entrance that also leads to offices for Residence Life and Housing, Parking and Transportation and Deacon One Card.  Follow signs. After hours, there is a phone at the building’s entrance that can be used to call the communications center and request admission to the building.

The emergency number for University Police is 758.5911 from a campus phone and 336.758.5911 from a cell phone.  The non-emergency number from a campus phone is 758.5591 and 336.758.5591 from a cell phone.

SAC announces results of election

The Staff Advisory Council (SAC) is pleased to announce the results of the 2013 election. Please congratulate the seven new SAC representatives from across the university staff: Shana Atkins (Advancement), Shannon Badgett (Budget and Finance Planning), David Carlson (FACS: Warehouse), Matt Clifford (Residence Life and Housing), Susan Edwards (Office of Research and Sponsored Programs), Christy Hill (FACS: Project Management), and Kim Thore (University Stores).

In addition to newly-elected representatives, Karen Frekko (Schools of Business) and Jennifer Killingsworth (Financial & Accounting Services) have been re-elected to serve an additional term. Each SAC representative will serve a term of three years and may be re-elected to serve one additional term.

The SAC received nominations from March 1-22 and held the election from April 8 – April 22.  The SAC received a total of 26 unique nominations across the six staff divisions. The overall staff voting participation rate was 36 percent (566 of 1,560 eligible voters). Two divisions, Athletics and Other, did not have any open SAC positions and therefore did not participate in the 2013 election. Click here for a list of SAC divisions.

The SAC would like to thank the representatives whose terms are ending this year: Cathy Chinlund, Debbie Deheck, Teresa Earl, Tomma Guastaferro, Melvin Lee and Donna Thornton.

For more information about the SAC, please visit: