For eighth consecutive year, business school alumni win CPA award

For the eight consecutive year, School of Business alumni have received the Elijah Watt Sells Award, which is presented by the American Institute of CPAs (AICPA).

The 2019 award was presented to Madison Hoff (’18, MSA ’19) and Carolyn Burns (’18, MSA ’19).

To earn this accolade, test takers must earn a cumulative average score above 95.5 across all four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination, pass all four sections on their first attempt, and complete all four sections within a calendar year.

This also marks the second time that two School of Business alumni have received the award in the same year.

Nearly 75,000 individuals sat for the CPA exam in 2019; 133 met the criteria to receive the award.

The AICPA established the Elijah Watt Sells Award in 1923. Sells, one of the first CPAs in the United States, was active in establishing the group and played a key role in advancing the profession.