‘Building the Dream’ award winners named at MLK joint celebration

(left to right): Sherri Lawson Clark, Jenny Vu Mai, William Gibson, Jessica Lee Johnson and Dana Walker. Courtesy of Winston-Salem State University.

A Wake Forest faculty member and a student were among this year’s recipients of the “Building the Dream” award  announced at the Jan. 22 Martin Luther King Jr. Day celebration in Wait Chapel featuring author and scholar Michael Eric Dyson.  The event was a collaboration of Wake Forest and Winston-Salem State University.

Sherri Lawson Clark, assistant professor of cultural anthropology, was named Wake Forest’s 2018 “Building the Dream” faculty award winner.  Senior sociology major Jenny Vu Mai was named Wake Forest’s 2018 “Building the Dream” student award winner.

Each year, both universities present the awards to faculty members, administrators and students who exemplify King’s qualities and promote diversity within their communities.

A news release announcing the awards for both universities is here.