Champions of Change honored at Sustainability Awards event

sustainabiltiyawards1 (1)

Sustainability awards are announced at event on campus

This is a guest post from the Office of Sustainability:

Champions of Change Honored at Campus Sustainability Awards

The Wake Forest Campus Sustainability Awards presentation was held on Earth Day, April 22, in the Green Room of Reynolda Hall. A combination of students, faculty, and staff who have demonstrated or initiated successful sustainable practices on campus were recognized as Champions of Change.

Wake Forest University Provost Rogan Kersh and Executive Vice President Hof Milam recognized the following award recipients in four categories: Teaching, Research and Engagement; Resource Conservation; Service and Social Action; and Bright Ideas.

Teaching, Research and Engagement Award Category Winners:

  • Sarah Mason, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
  • Vanessa Zboreak, Professor of Law

Resource Conservation Award Category Winners:

  • Office of Research & Sponsored Programs
  • Jessica Wallace, Food Service Director
  • John Wise, Associate Vice President of Hospitality & Auxiliary Services

Service and Social Action Award Category Winners:

  • Justin Catanoso, Associate Professor of English and Director of the Journalism Program
  • Marianne Magjuka, Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Democratic Engagement and Justice Programs

Bright Ideas Award Category Winners:

  • Lee Colette, Coordinator of Outdoor Pursuits
  • Eric Stottlemeyer, Assistant Teaching Professor of English
  • David Link, Z. Smith Reynolds Library Specialist

Two individuals were honored with special awards for their meritorious leadership in campus sustainability:

  • Dan Rossow, Coordinator of Event and Program Support for Reynolda House
  • Alyshah Aziz, Sustainability Intern from the Class of 2016

A special group of awards also went to individuals who were nominated for their efforts to inspire others to live more sustainably:

  • John Noble, Associate Service Desk Student Manager for The Bridge
  • Tanisha Ramachandran, Associate Teaching Professor for the Study of Religions
  • Natascha Romeo, Assistant Professor of Health and Exercise Science
  • Sharon Woodard, Associate Professor of Health and Exercise Science
  • Preston Stockton, Manager of Reynolda Gardens
  • John Kiger, Assistant Manager of Reynolda Gardens

Click here for more detailed information on the award ceremony and winners, including the ways in which the winners demonstrated positive sustainability practices on campus.