Wake Forest recognizes excellence in teaching, research, service

25127346235_a52caa9a80_mWake Forest students, faculty and staff community gathered in Wait Chapel on Feb. 18 to celebrate 182 years since the University’s founding and the accomplishments of faculty and alumni in teaching, research and service.

The following awards were presented during the annual celebration. Photos are available in this gallery.

Medallion of Merit: The University’s highest honor, the Medallion of Merit, is presented to someone who has rendered distinguished service to the University, including past presidents, trustees, benefactors, alumni, and retired faculty and administrators.

This year it was awarded to two members of the Wake Forest community, Jenny Robinson Puckett (‘71 P ‘00), retired Spanish instructor and historian, and James T. “Jim” Williams (’62, JD ’66, P ’89, P ’92, P ‘96), life trustee and benefactor, for their outstanding achievements.

URECA Faculty Awards for Excellence in Mentorship in Research and Creative Work: Each year, the Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities (URECA) Center recognizes faculty members who engage Wake Forest undergraduates outside the classroom and inspire, guide, and support the students’ intellectual and creative endeavors.

Professor of Mathematics Ken Berenhaut received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentored Scholarship in the Sciences.
Assistant Professor of English Laura Aull received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentored Scholarship in the Arts and Humanities.

Jon Reinhardt Award for Distinguished Teaching: Associate Professor of Romance Languages Linda Howe received the Jon Reinhardt Award for Distinguished Teaching, which recognizes an experienced faculty member who exemplifies the ideals of a liberal arts education.

Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching: Assistant Professor of German Tina Boyer received the Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching, which is awarded to outstanding faculty members in the early part of their careers.

Award for Excellence in Research: Jeffrey Katula, Associate Professor of Health & Exercise Science, won this award presented to a member of the faculty who is an outstanding scholar at an early stage of his or her career.

Donald O. Schoonmaker Faculty Award for Community Service: Professor of Music and Associate Dean for Faculty Governance David Levy won this award, which recognizes extraordinary community service by a teacher-scholar.

Kulynych Family Omicron Delta Kappa Award: This award recognizes an outstanding faculty member who bridges the gap between classroom and student life. This year’s recipient was Michele Gillespie, Dean of Wake Forest College and Presidential Endowed Professor of Southern History. 

Joseph Branch Excellence in Teaching Award: Professor of Law and Associate Dean Jonathan Cardi received the Joseph Branch Excellence in Teaching Award, which is presented to a member of the School of Law who exemplifies teaching and service to the legal profession.

Additional information about Founders’ Day is available here.