Faculty win awards at Convocation

Patricia Dos Santos waits to receive her award.

Patricia Dos Santos waits to receive her award.

The Wake Forest community gathered together for Founders’ Day Convocation on Feb. 21 to celebrate the University’s founding in 1834 and the accomplishments of faculty and alumni in teaching, research and service.

Faculty awards are listed below:

  • Rhoda B. Billings (JD ’66), who was a professor at the School of Law from 1973 to 2003, won the Medallion of Merit, the University’s highest honor.
  • Music professor Louis R. Goldstein won the John Reinhardt Award for Distinguished Teaching.
  • Assistant professor of physics Oana Jurchescu won the Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching.
  • Assistant professor of chemistry Patricia Dos Santos received the Award for Excellence in Research.
  • Anne Boyle, professor of English and associate dean for student-faculty academic initiatives, received the Donald O. Schoonmaker Faculty Award for Community Service.
  • Ken Zick, vice president and dean of student affairs and professor of law, was awarded the Kulynych Family Omicron Delta Kappa Award.
  • Associate professor of legal writing Tracey Banks Coan was presented the Joseph Branch Excellence in Teaching Award.

To find out more about Convocation, the awards and those who won then, see the Wake Forest News Center »