Nominate faculty for mentorship award

To honor faculty members who have distinguished themselves as excellent mentors of Wake Forest undergraduates, URECA (the Undergraduate REsearch and Creative Activities Center) has established a faculty award for Excellence in Mentorship in Research and Creative Work.

The award recognizes those faculty who share their passion for scholarship and creative activities and who encourage and inspire their students to work closely with them.

We invite faculty and students to nominate faculty for this award. Nominations are not limited to faculty who have participated in Wake Forest Summer Fellowships or the Richter Scholarship Program, but to all faculty who have served or continue to serve as mentors for undergraduate scholarly work.

Each year, URECA will present two awards — one to a faculty member in the arts and humanities and another to a faculty member in the sciences or social sciences.

Please read the guidelines below and send your nominations to Prof. Anne Boyle, associate dean for student-faculty academic initiatives, via email ( or hand-delivery to 104 Reynolda Hall.

Nominations are due by December 3.

Nomination Guidelines:

Chairs, faculty, or students should submit a one-to-two page letter of nomination that may include the following:

  1. A description of the ways the nominee has influenced or encouraged the scholarly or creative work of an individual or group of undergraduate students. You may include not only collaborative work that the nominee has initiated through summer fellowships, but also directed readings, independent studies, departmental honors, externally funded research, etc.
  2. The nominee’s history of mentored scholarship with undergraduates.
  3. Notable scholarly or creative accomplishments of undergraduate students who have worked with the nominee, for example, scholarly participation in presentations and performances and/or at conferences.
  4. Notable scholarly or creative accomplishments of the nominee that were influenced or inspired by his/her collaborations with students.
  5. A maximum of three letters from students or faculty who can attest to the nominee’s qualifications for the award.