SAC welcomes new representatives

The Staff Advisory Council (SAC) is pleased to announce the results of the 2012 election. The SAC received nominations from March 12-23 and held the election from April 19-30. A run-off election was held for the Finance and Administration division which concluded on April 9.

The SAC received a total of 55 nominations across the six staff divisions – up from 39 last year. Additionally, staff voting participation reached a new high this year with 39.33% (702 of 1,785 staff members). Last year, voting participation was 33.17% (543 of 1,637 staff members).

As a result of the election, there are 14 new representatives from across the university staff:

  • Tammy Burke (Dean’s Office)
  • Melissa Clark (Schools of Business)
  • Kevin Cox (Advancement)
  • Christina Fisher (Athletics)
  • Ted Johnson (University Police)
  • William Kane (Digital Publishing)
  • Greg Keener (WFDD Radio)
  • Sheila Lockhart (Religion)
  • Sherry Ratliff (Information Services)
  • Jeannette Rork (Registrar’s Office)
  • Kelly Segovia (Human Resources)
  • Catherine Sheff (President’s Home)
  • Scott Spernoga (Athletics)
  • Artanzia Yates (Information Systems)

In addition, Mary Cranfill (Procurement Services) and Paul Sheff (Facilities and Campus Services) have been re-elected to serve an additional term. Each SAC representative will serve a term of three years and may be re-elected to serve additional terms. As a result of this election, the SAC has completed its three-year plan to increase representation across campus while maintaining a balance of new and returning representatives.

The SAC would like to thank the representatives whose terms are ending this year:

  • Randy Cockerham (Facilities and Campus Services)
  • Travis Asbury (Facilities and Campus Services)
  • Nicolle Gaillard (Procurement Services)
  • Prentice Armstrong (ZSR Library)
  • Kathy Bunn (Schools of Business)
  • Beth Hoagland (Provost’s Office)
  • Pat Morton (Information Services)
  • Sharon Payne (Schools of Business)
  • Elide Vargas (Political Science)

For more information about the SAC, please visit: