Professors receive special recognition

Three members of the Wake Forest University faculty have been honored with special professorships.

Patricia Cunningham and Mark R. Leary were named Wake Forest Professors, for a total of 10 Wake Forest faculty members with that distinction. John C. Moorhouse was appointed the first Archie B. Carroll Jr. Professor of Ethical Leadership.

Cunningham, an education professor, joined the faculty in 1978. Her work focuses on helping teachers instruct young children in reading and writing, as well as instructing children who have difficulty with these skills. She has written eight books and consulted for schools, school systems and other agencies across the country. Her honors include being a fellow of the National Conference on Research in English.

Cunningham has a bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Rhode Island, a master’s in reading from Florida State University, and a doctorate in reading education from the University of Georgia. She also has an educational specialist degree from Indiana State University.

Leary’s research focuses on social and personality psychology. Leary, who joined the psychology department in 1985, has written four books and co-authored two others. He is also a fellow of the American Psychological Association.

Leary has a bachelor’s in psychology from West Virginia Wesleyan College and earned his master’s and doctorate in social psychology from the University of Florida.

Moorhouse, an economics professor, specializes in applied microeconomic theory, the law and economics, and housing economics. Moorhouse has been with the university’s faculty since 1969. He co-founded the mathematical economics degree program along with John Baxley, a professor with Wake Forest’s mathematics and computer science department. Moorhouse also was a visiting fellow for the School of Economics at the University of South Wales, Australia.

Moorhouse has a bachelor’s in economics from Wabash College and a doctorate in economics from Northwestern University. In 1993, Moorhouse received the Kenan Enterprise Award in Economics.

Individuals named to special professorships were first nominated by their departmental chairs and then selected by a panel of faculty and staff.

Wake Forest Professorships are funded by the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation. The Archie B. Carroll Jr. professorship is funded by a gift and trust established by Carroll before his death in 1994. Carroll, a 1932 graduate, was involved in alumni activities including fund-raisers and the national alumni council. He was also a charter member of the President’s Club.